Hemning Sternberg (moonshadow) wrote,
Hemning Sternberg

Seeking a synchronistic individual...

... to join our leather family and become a collared slave to two adorable felines.

Just kidding. Actually what we need is a roommate. Please feel free to repost this
and/or point people at it.

Short version: Three funky roomates seek fourth.
The room is open now, move in anytime between now and April first. We definitely
want someone through June first, if it works out we'd love to have a year-long lease
signed at that point but it's not a requirement.
The heat and hot water are included in rent! Two cats, tons of common space,
1-3/4 baths, a dining room, living room, and big kitchen.

We are looking for one friendly, interesting non-smoker who likes living with
others. Crafty or geeky a plus. Sorry, no dogs or additional cats as per the landlord
("cage pets" negotiable though). We like to be friendly
with our roommates and enjoy occasional shared meals (omnivorous),
movie nights, and hanging out.

About us:

moonshadow. I work part-time doing energywork, birth assistance, and other things.
Home frequently. When I'm in, I tend to listen to music, cook, read, have sex,
and play on the computer. Occasionally I have overnight guests.

mrpet Software engineer, not too geeky but have been known to fix people's
computers :) Spends a fair amount of time around the house doing various
creative type stuff, including: cooking, sewing, pattern drafting and some
website design.

moonshadow and mrpet are partnered long-term.

heart_exalted Ph.D. student in the social sciences. Aside from my participation in
the BDSM scene, I am also into knitting, crocheting, energy work, cooking,
tennis, hiking, and more. I'm rather quiet at times but can still have fun!

Pretzel and Nightshade. Two playful, affectionate cats. Pretzel is an adult
with tiger stripes, Nightshade is on the older side of "kitten."
Two cats (no dogs) is the landlord's limit for the apartment, but we guarantee
their pettability. On the other hand, if you are not a cat person, they don't ever
need to be allowed in your room.

The house is clothing-optional for residents (clothes are on most of the
time but sometimes it does get hot in the summer :) and their partners
(but we'll happily put our clothes on when your parents/new
sweetie/coworkers are coming over ;).

What we're looking for in a housemate:

A friendly person, poly/gay/bi/pagan/trans/etc-friendly, non-smoker with
no dogs or cats ("cage pets" negotiable) who likes to share a house with
others, doesn't mind cleaning up after themselves (but doesn't mind some
clutter either :).
Crafty and/or geeky a plus. One person only.

The House:

The apartment is on Orchard Street--5 minute walk to Davis Square Station
(Red Line), 7 minute walk to Porter Square Station (also Red Line) Being
so close to Davis and Porter we're just a few minutes from lots of
restaurants, convenience stores, groceries, etc. etc. (it's Davis :). We're
also 30 seconds from Mass ave, which is the 77 bus, and Davis has lots of buses.
Super public-transit accessible if you're not familiar with the area.

The apartment is the second and third floor of a two-family house.
Amenities include a nice-sized kitchen with great counter space, living
room, dining room, and additional common space areas (the common space
acreage is very nice :), 1 & 3/4 baths, basement, partly-full garage (good
for small storage), second floor enclosed porch (where the kitty litter
resides), and washer & drier in laundry section in the basement (large
basement). Plushy carpet in all rooms except for kitchen and 70s wallpaper
in most of the common space (it's pretty muted). Usable driveway (i.e. you
can park without blocking people in :) and plenty of on-street parking.
Resident parking permits are one dollar (yeah, just $1) and temporary
permits for friends are easy to get (including multiple permits, useful
for move-ins, social gatherings, etc.)--a nice feature of Somerville.

The common areas are well furnished by the current housemates, but room
can be made for new housemate stuff as well. A few notable common-area
items are: lots of kitchen gear, gas stove, new dishwasher, new fridge,
washer & dryer (free laundry), TV/VCR, new DVD player, and a DVR box (like
TIVO only cheap).

The room is a good-sized one on the third floor with three windows and a
huge walk-in closet that has a built in dresser. The walls are currently
blue, and you can paint them any color but black (landlord's request) if
you want to. Ceilings are slanted. It is open now. We need to fill it no
later than April first.

The rent for the room is $675 per month (total rent for the
apartment is $2600 that is split 4 ways, $675 for each for the three big
bedrooms and $575 for the little one (already occupied)). Big plus:
heating and hot water costs are included in the rent (they can get up to
$100 a month normally in this neighborhood)

The only utilities we need to pay are electricity and cable/internet and
they usually run around $70 per month. Cable internet is provided by
Comcast. All of the bedrooms have wireless internet access and the internet
service is both high-speed and reliable. As mentioned, there is also a free
washer & dryer in the basement.

There is a 1 year lease cycle starting June 1. The landlady lives in Boston
and seems pretty nice. Fortunately, we've never needed to have too much
contact with her though.

We're also on good terms with our previous housemates and are happy to
furnish references on request.

If this isn't what you're looking for, we hope you find it! If it is, we look
forward to hearing from you!
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.